Code of the District of Columbia

§ 49–302. Staff officers; noncommissioned staff.

The staff of the militia of the District of Columbia shall be appointed and commissioned by the President. It shall consist of one Adjutant General, one Inspector General, one Quartermaster General, one Commissary General, one Chief of Ordnance, one Chief Engineer, one Surgeon General, one Judge Advocate General, and one Inspector General of Rifle Practice each with the rank of major; and 4 aides-de-camp, each with the rank of captain. The Commanding General may appoint a noncommissioned staff of the militia, to consist of one sergeant major, one quartermaster sergeant, one commissary sergeant, one ordnance sergeant, 2 staff sergeants, one hospital steward, one color sergeant, and one sergeant bugler.