Code of the District of Columbia

§ 7–2271.02. Establishment of District of Columbia Homeland Security Commission; membership.

(a) There is established a District of Columbia Homeland Security Commission, which shall consist of 7 persons with expertise in security, transportation, communication, chemical safety, risk assessment, terrorism (including bioterrorism), or occupational safety and health.

(b)(1) Commission members shall be nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council for terms of 3 years, in accordance with § 1-523.01(e), except that initially 4 Commission members shall be appointed to a 3-year term and 3 Commission members shall be appointed to a 2-year term.

(2) The Mayor shall establish through rulemaking that Commission members shall be subject to pre-nomination inquiries and security-clearance requirements.

(3) The terms of the members first appointed shall begin on the date a majority of the first members are sworn in, which shall become the anniversary date for all subsequent appointments.

(4) Commission member’s terms shall be staggered so that either 4 positions or 3 positions will expire on the year’s anniversary date.

(c) Members shall receive no salary for their service on the Commission but shall be reimbursed for administrative costs associated with membership.

(d) The Agency shall provide staff to the Commission.